Poets logo

Creating My Own Queendom

The Tattoo I've Always Wanted

By teisha lesheaPublished 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 1 min read
14
Creating My Own Queendom
Photo by Birger Strahl on Unsplash

Shhh, A queen is present.

She walks with grace without making a sound.

Her head held high to keep her crown from falling.

She's sharp, alert, and constantly on her toes.

She roars her mind and protects her King.

She shimmy's and cuddles to encourage making babies and things

She's running fast under the Sahara sun.

She protects her children without a doubt.

*****

By Steve Ody on Unsplash

She entrusts her sisters to protect the kids while she's out.

The jungle is silent when the Queen comes around.

Her instincts quick like the gun in track and field

To feed her family and her little ones.

She shows her daughters how to hunt and run.

Roaming in packs gives the playing field more eyes.

*****

What does this tattoo mean to me?

It reminds me of the woman I've always wanted to be

Maternal instincts protecting my family

A symbol of hope to remind all of my peers.

The victory I have to show the world what I've overcome

The stamina and tenacity to remind me that I've won

I won in life, and I've created my own rules.

My First Caricature. Place: San Diego Zoo 2021

******

A true Queen of the jungle

From Pintrest

***********************************

If you haven't joined the Vocal+ community what are you waiting for? Join now to be a part of a community of creatives to share your content. Click here to join now.

If you haven't joined the Vocal+ community what are you waiting for? Join now to be a part of a community of creatives to share your content. Click hereto join now.

*****************************

Click here to read more of my stories.

*****************************

Banner Created By Vocal Creators Saloon Member Ali Sp

If you are looking for a group of writers who supports, provides feedback, reads, like, and provide tips, then join Vocal Creators Saloon. A small community with tons of advice and writing prompts will help you through your writer's journey.

inspirational
14

About the Creator

teisha leshea

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.