Poets logo

Coping with loss

Poetry

By Roxy WolfPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like

There’s a moment where the breath isn’t labored

where breathing isn’t work

where each beat of my heart

doesn’t reflect the break, the cracks

I feel in my body… deep into my bones

Tired limbs walk, they work, they move

sad eyes blink, they observe, they see

my hands touch, they feel, they hold

my heart is waging a war inside

there will be no survivors

unless my mind can gather its strength

unless it chooses to fight

fight through the loss

fight through the pain

fight through what ifs and might have beens.

To try and find peace in the knowledge that

those I have lost are no longer in pain

no longer suffering

and the children I have lost are with them

that my children are loved here on earth and there in heaven.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Roxy Wolf

Hello! My pen-name for this is Roxy Wolf. Not using my real name due to personal reasons. One day that may change. This is part of my journey to healing & learning to use my voice. I hope this helps others know they're not alone.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.