Poets logo

Contentionem repetitionis

poem about the strain of repetition

By Noah DouglasPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
1
Contentionem repetitionis
Photo by Joshua Chai on Unsplash

I wake up and sit at my desk,

should I get another coffee?

No, no, remember, too much caffeine is bad for you.

Why am I here,

people always said I was talented

Maybe they were just trying to be nice.

If the world doesn't function on money,

why do people do jobs they hate?

Oh but I do like my new car.

I remember being asked what I wanted to do when I was younger,

I wanted to be in a band.

Haha aw, dreams eh.

At least I'm not alone,

Martin told me his job isn't going so well.

I've just got to do my best where I am.

People are lying when they say they like their work,

I mean I've got to be grateful as some people don't even have jobs, 

who knows maybe I'll start that business one day?

I gotta finish catching up with 'Squid Game' first though.

sad poetry
1

About the Creator

Noah Douglas

Perpetually curious.

Journeyman of faith†

Runner, writer, marketer.

Some of my other work ↓

www.noahdouglas.net

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.