Poets logo

Contemplations

Spokenword Poetry

By Elijah H. MuiedPublished 4 years ago 2 min read
Like

CONTEMPLATIONS

I sit alone in my cubicle contemplating, I got shit on my mind I try relating

Ill at ease with these thoughts in my brain going insane, getting that urge to begin the killing again

I’m trying to fight it but my head is screaming at me “get em get em”, I’m in the jungle hearing the guns coming at me, “wet em wet em”.

Life that I grew up in ghetto warfare, what the fuck! I really want to get out but I cant I’m stuck

Homeys around me dying or they’re gone to the wall, and my family is hanging up the phone on me when ever I dare to call

My baby’s momma wont let me see my kids says she knows that I’m dying soon and she don’t want to have to be the one to tell our sons what it is that their daddy do

Every thing that means a thing I seem to be losing, it’s the price I pay for the ways I’ve been choosing.

CONTEMPLATIONS

Contemplating bad thoughts, time for me to ride no where to hide from these thoughts in my mind

Even when I wine & dine death not far behind it can happen any time

CONTEMPLATIONS

Contemplating ways of straightening out my life & getting out the hood, would my surroundings change my brain would that do me any good?

Would this disease leave my mind would I finally find peace? Would all this anger inside of me finally find release?

Or will I trip until I die my family left to cry my kids to wonder why, did daddy have to die?

Inside my mind, battling with these demons trying hard to stay strong but I’m loosing my reasons.

“Fight it fight it”, my people’s telling me “ride it ride it”, the devil’s telling me two sides in my head & they’re both yelling at me!

Outside in these streets I see death coming at me

CONTEMPLATIONS

Contemplating bad thoughts, time for me to ride no where to hide from these thoughts in my mind

Even when I wine & dine death not far behind it can happen any time

Contemplating once again what to do to pull through, keep myself sane keep my mind on cool

I can’t afford therapy so who can I talk to? Folks at church looking at me crazy any time I walk through. I don’t know what to do, I won’t tell it but I’m scared, I think that I might die soon & I know I know I aint prepared. But who the hell cares? At least that’s how I’m feeling. In the back of my mind a voice tells me “try kneeling! Pray to God that’s the only thing to help you, it’s hard to believe in what I don’t see. It’s the only way to save you! In order to succeed you’re going to need God in your life”, and see, 6 Deep never thought there was a place for God on these streets where I ride, maybe that’s why my life aint right. I’m going to have to give that one some thought tonight

CONTEMPLATIONS

Contemplating bad thoughts, time for me to ride no where to hide from these thoughts in my mind

Even when I wine & dine death not far behind it can happen any time

Elijah H. Mu'ied

A.K.A "6 Deep The Messenger"

performance poetry
Like

About the Creator

Elijah H. Muied

Also Known As - "6 Deep The Messenger"! Pacific Northwest Spoken word Performance Artist, Poet, Creative Writer & Event Host...

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.