Poets logo

Conformity

By Jess Boyes

By Jess BoyesPublished about a year ago 1 min read
11
Credit: turgaygundogdu - stock.adobe.com Copyright: ©turgaygundogdu - stock.adobe.com

Did you know that I struggle to work with you?

That’s you as the collective,

I should really correct that, and make it clear,

that it’s the fakeness that I must conform to in order to appear -

normal.

To pretend to be happy, not sad, to stay bubbly, not mad, to be loud, not quiet, to hide it, to stop it, to control it, get over it, so I can be the same –

as the others.

I mean I get it, there’s rules and regulations to follow, and I do,

but c’mon! Surely I can still be human?

Allowances for some, but not others,

the hypocrisy that goes on, it’s a joke, right?

But I don’t wanna fight, I just want to be the way I need,

not how I’m expected to be.

Why can’t I just be myself? Can you let me just be – me?

performance poetry
11

About the Creator

Jess Boyes

From Melbourne, Australia, I love creative writing and food, particularly a good quality cheese or some sort of dairy.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  4. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

Add your insights

Comments (8)

Sign in to comment
  • {L.B.}about a year ago

    This speaks to my current and constant struggle to sustain and function in the everyday life. Very well said, ❤️. Thank you for sharing.

  • Loryne Andaweyabout a year ago

    "...I just want to be the way I need, not how I’m expected to be..." These words just captured me. Well done.

  • Heather Hublerabout a year ago

    "Why can’t I just be myself? Can you let me just be – me?" excellent questions. I wish there were good answers. Thank you for sharing this heartfelt piece :)

  • Gina C.about a year ago

    So relatable; excellent job with this!

  • Lilly Cooperabout a year ago

    I think alot of us can relate ❤

  • Paul Stewartabout a year ago

    So relatable! Jess, this is an incredible little piece! I agree!

  • Cathy holmesabout a year ago

    Very well said, Jess. I agree wholeheartedly.

  • Omggg this was soooo relatable! I mean is it too much to ask just to be ourselves and not mask how we're feeling. Loved your poem so much!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.