Poets logo

Compositions

Last writings of you

By EmPublished 5 years ago 1 min read
Like

Love Somebody

They always say you can never learn to love somebody if you don’t know how to love yourself…

I’ve always thought it was the biggest load of bullshit I’ve ever heard

I’ve always struggled with self-love

But when I fell for you I couldn’t find a single thing wrong with you

You were perfect

I wanted to give you all the love you needed and deserved

I wanted to be the one that would love you like you never experienced pain...

Yet in the end I’ve failed...

So maybe it isn’t bullshit.

Maybe I can’t love you the way you need to be loved...

Maybe I can’t protect you from harms way...

I’m sorry...

Maybe I won’t ever be able to love...

Because self-love takes a lifetime to accomplish

And the way I’m going...

It doesn’t seem like it’ll happen any time soon...

Break?...

I wonder if break is exactly what you need...

What we need...

Whether after semester break you’ll be able to look at me again

Be able to think “that’s who I want to be with”

Whether you’ll be able to say “I love you”

Whether you’ll want anything with me

But I can’t help but wonder how I’ll feel...

Whether I’ll even want anything anymore...

Whether I’ll still want you after it...

I can’t help but wonder...

My emotions come and go so fast...

I don’t want them to go...

But if they do, there’s nothing more that I can do...

This Is Me

So this is me letting you go

Allowing you to be happy

Allowing you to choose another path

Telling you to go on

And experience the love you need and want

This is me improving myself

And distancing myself from you

This is me

Letting you wander into the unknown

And not wondering if you’ll come back

Not praying you will

But letting you take your course

This is me

Focusing on myself the way I should’ve been

This is me

Finally doing the right thing

And moving away from it all

And letting you live a happy and pain-free life without me

So this is me

Saying good luck

This is me

Saying goodbye

This is me watching over you

And hoping you’ll make the right decisions in life

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Em

I'm doing my best.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.