Poets logo

Community Superhero

I Am Essential

By Derek EversPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
1
Community Superhero
Photo by Steve Halama on Unsplash

You see us as Community Superheros, but under these glasses, I'm no Superman.

A virus still hurts me.

I haven't seen my family in months and that still hurts me.

And you prioritize profit over safety and I shouldn't need to explain how that still hurts me.

Don't you know we're only human, doing our best to live?

But we're easily replaced in your mind.

What's so super about that?

Is your power being inhumanly selfish?

Empty promises and shallow words,

is this you trying?

If we're your superheros then whose the bad guy in this story?

Is it you working from the comfort of home or the small man in the White House?

How much louder do our voices need to be?

Should we make the Earth quake or will you pretend that didn't happen either?

Compassion; it's not a secret power created in a lab.

Just take the time to look within and you'll find it there,

hidden behind years of corporate training.

We're this community's superheros but we all still have human hearts.

You can still show your human heart.

social commentary
1

About the Creator

Derek Evers

Hello! I'm Derek, a writer based in Portland, OR. Author of short stories, poetry, and blog posts about the things that interest me. Be kind to yourself and others, always.

IG: deverswriting

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.