Poets logo

Colors

Poem

By KK245Published 3 years ago 1 min read
1
Colors
Photo by Jason Leung on Unsplash

I was thinking about the possible ways

Of making the world a more colorful place

Celebrate Holi on an international scale every week?

Conduct outdoor art classes for kids?

Increase the population of butterflies?

Dress up every streetlight as a different flower?

Manufacture vehicles that changed colors at every traffic signal?

Design clothes that changed shades depending on our emotions?

I liked the last thought

Borrowing ideas from the film 'Inside Out',

I imagined a crowded street where the clothes turned emotional chameleons

Yellow for joy, blue for sadness, red for anger

How many faces would adorn a smile even when the shirts turned blue?

How many faces would show calmness even when the saris turned red?

I badly wanted to walk that street

Apart from the colors, for the emotional truth

But I told myself

I would walk that street only if black was assigned for pain

How else would I get to be happily dressed in my favorite color day after day?

inspirational
1

About the Creator

KK245

Be , what you are!!!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.