Poets logo

Colors

A poem on autism

By Josey PickeringPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
2
Colors
Photo by Egor Myznik on Unsplash

The prism of this mind

has moments where it melts together

the spectrum of colors

become one jumbled mess

dulled to gray.

I apply thick coats to the walls

I build around me

and hide away in the cabin

I’ve painted with anxiety.

In the dull nothing,

I start again.

Will I ever find my color?

I wonder as blues erupt from my fingertips

and red rolls out of my ears.

Yellow is my voice

and red is the song of my heart.

A sequence of colors repaint my world

and I know then that even in my darkness,

I am made of rainbows.

performance poetry
2

About the Creator

Josey Pickering

Autistic, non-binary, queer horror nerd with a lot to say.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insight

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.