Poets logo

color me crazy

a poem about being happy

By Nikki VidalPublished 3 years ago 2 min read
1
color me crazy
Photo by Zoltan Tasi on Unsplash

In the morning as I arise from lavender dreams

I climb out of my bed and my feet hit the cold dark floor

clothed in black velvet and patchouli I could wish for no more

I scamper to the powder room and quietly close the door

as I splash cold water on my porcelain white face

I wonder what I did to deserve this place

golden fixtures ordain the halls

painted cameos hang on the walls

canary yellow light beaming down from the large skylight

illuminating the shadows bidding adieu to the night

luscious green moss covered walls thirty feet high

their beauty so breath taking one cant help but cry

a blue bird sits on my shoulder as i line my eyes

he tells me stories and then we say our good byes

a red fox in a hat brings me my tea

I am always alone but its never just me

cold grey rock that is cracked from deep down in the earth

no amount of money can value its worth

a castle dungeon cold dark and locked has my soul

black and damp and musty like a home for a mole

I tell myself I am happy, I tell myself I cannot go

for who could be unhappy living inside a rainbow

I must go outside to get fresh air

all of the pressures of life will escape me there

I pick a handful of daisies but daisies they are not

the warm green grass tickles my feet, this feeling cannot be bought

this place is so wonderful, why did it take me so long to find it

you'll not find this place on a map, its nowhere that everyone can get

today my favorite color is red

maybe tomorrow it will be blue if I am not dead

you see I am alive in a dream, I'm not living at all

the colors tantilate and tickle my soul

warm air swirling picks me up off my feet, I see the orange sunset

and think am I done yet?

I hope that I'm not, and that tomorrows dream can be as good as todays

I hope that this psychosis never goes away

inspirational
1

About the Creator

Nikki Vidal

just a creative girl in a creative world.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.