Poets logo

Cold December Night

A poem about young, unrequited love and a boy who pretended to feel the same way. Instead, he threw away our friendship and ran off with a girl he just met

By Kate LockePublished 4 years ago 1 min read
Like

(A sappy, sad poem I feel we can all relate

I guard my heart with all my might

As I stare out the car window

this cold December night

The rain comes down as light as my step

I walk to your car with a heavy heart

My burdened mind cannot simply relent

Everything seems to be a blur

as I vaguely think and remember

how those days were

This cold December night

I hold back my tears

To not blind my sight

and silence the words that I hear

Maybe one day I will see

that all of this was meant to be

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Kate Locke

Oregon grown and adventurer at heart. Kate likes to write when she has the time. She believes that social media is causing us to be disconnected and distracted. She has a bachelor's in Journalism and Communications.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.