Poets logo

Clean Break

A love lost poem.

By SM FitzgeraldPublished 6 years ago 2 min read
Like

She's running out into the pouring rain

I've broken her heart yet again

Screaming my name and running hard

Trying to beat the rain pouring in her heart.

Just trying to get far away

Trying to run from the reality

Her hair sticking to her face, soaking wet

How could I, in one moment just forget.

Oh what have I done

How could I lose my nerve

How could I be so cruel

How did I do this to her.

Now she turns so I can't see her tears

As they stream down her face

I try to reach out to touch her

But she looks at my hand like a disgrace.

How could I use this hand

To fracture what was once mine

Will she ever forgive me and stay

Or is this just a clean break.

Oh what have I done

How could I lose it all

How did I get us here

How could I let us just fall.

Now she's running far and fast

Nothing will ever be the same

Trying to catch her is pointless

She no longer wants my name.

When she finally looked at me

Tears streaming down her face

My heart shattered into a million pieces

She made a clean break.

Oh what have I done

How could I lose it all

How did I get us here

How could I let us just fall.

Oh what have I done

How could I lose my nerve

How could I be so cruel

How did I do this to her.

Now it's only in my mind

We're running hand in hand

Through the grass to our spot

When she still saw me as her man.

Sunlight blinds my face

I feel a sharp pang in my heart

As I open my eyes to see

She made a clean break, she ran, ran so far.

I did what I did

Maybe I have to lose to find out

Forgiveness is just a seed

A way to remove all doubt.

It can't bring back love

It can only heal so far

But my life will never be the same

And I will keep wishing on a star.

I wish I knew how I got here

I wish she would come home

To see the moonlight in her hair

To feel the love in her stare.

Running out of here so fast

She made a clean break

Protecting her heart from me

I was supposed to keep her safe.

Oh what have I done

How could I lose it all

How did I get us here

How could I let us just fall.

Oh what have I done

How could I lose my nerve

How could I be so cruel

How did I do this to her.

By:

Mj Angel

love poems
Like

About the Creator

SM Fitzgerald

Poetry, novels, painting, sculpting, art is life.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.