Poets logo

Christmas, How I love Thee

Praise for Commercials and Everything Worth Receiving

By David PearsonPublished about a year ago 1 min read
Like
Christmas, How I love Thee
Photo by freestocks on Unsplash

Christmas!

Oh such joy!

No matter where you go

There's jingles on the commercials

Telling you

Buy this for him

Buy this for her

After all, commercials are never wrong

Especially when they have Christmas songs

Perhaps the holiday excites some

Surely kids, this day rules all

But as we age, we see through the veil

There's no Santa, only sales

Buy me, Give me

These transactions we all share

Give me this, in exchange I'll give you that

It's not the thought that counts

Gift cards are well worth the cost

I love you

I give you this

You love me

You give me that

But please I don't want you leaving me

If you don't like my gift

Then give me something worth receiving.

social commentary
Like

About the Creator

David Pearson

Welcome to my morbid mind. Explore the depths at your own entertainment. Within my writings you shall find emotional turmoil, humorous musings, and all things that fascinate and disturb you. I'm new here but I'm not going away... Enjoy.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.