Poets logo

Chosen

Simple Inspiration

By Grace HowlPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
1
Chosen
Photo by Moritz Kindler on Unsplash

Was it my plump shape

that made you pluck me from my branch?

Was it the way I hung,

swaying gently with the wind?

Was it my olive complexion, that invited your grasp?

Did you notice the bruise on my hip?

Will you discard me when you do?

Or did you smell my sweetness

when you walked by?

Was it the way you fantasized my taste,

that drew you to me?

Is it me you want to sink your teeth into,

or are you always this ravenous?

What will you do when you reach my core?

Will you spit me out? Toss me to the side?

Or will you grow an orchard with your gentle hands?

sad poetry
1

About the Creator

Grace Howl

Young, inspired recent graduate of psychology and business management (May 2022) from Goucher College. Lifelong lover of writing and stories.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.