Poets logo

Choices

Musings

By Steven ShakirPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
1

A choice to make with my mind and heart pulling my sanity in opposite ways,

A choice that should be so easy and simple to make yet leaves me in a daze.

Who would of known that something so beautiful could be tarnished by fear?

Who would of known that which fills me with joy now brings dread ever so near?

How does 8 letters seem impossible to utter out loud?

How does 8 letters have me frozen making no sound?

Why am I so conflicted within myself and restraining these 8 letters within my mind?

Why am I holding back and not speaking my thoughts when I know you to not be judgemental and kind?

Is it the fear of rushing headfirst with my heart before thinking it all through?

Is it the fear of past mistakes and dark experiences pulling me back from embracing the new?

How does 8 letters seem impossible to utter out loud?

How does 8 letters have me frozen making no sound?

Am I holding back out of doubt and because I overthink that your response my be what I fear?

Am I holding back becasue I fear that I will somehow push you irreparably away and never again near?

Why does this decision to make seem to be clouded in mist and shrouded as an everlasting mystery?

Why does this decision fill me with fear when there lies not a single similarity with all of my history?

How does 8 letters seem impossible to utter out loud?

How does 8 letters have me frozen making no sound?

When is there a right time to say it, should that moment even be written and exist in my future?

When is the right time to take that leap of faith unwavering and journey on this new venture?

I pray that when the time comes to speak those life changing 8 letters that I am ready,

I pray that when those fateful 8 letters leave my lips and the safety of my mind you will not flinch and remain steady.

How does 8 letters seem impossible to utter out loud?

How does 8 letters have me frozen making no sound?

love poems
1

About the Creator

Steven Shakir

Law Student

Poet

Songwriter

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.