Poets logo

Childhood Stories

An accidental poem

By Ruth StewartPublished 10 months ago β€’ 1 min read
7
Childhood Stories
Photo by Annie Spratt on Unsplash

Stories that we tell ourselves

come from childhood,

often not based on fact.

Hidden, so difficult to find and then shine a light on.

Our brain protecting us from things we fear-

Rejection and failure.

I had some notes written for a story I was writing on Medium, and when I read them back to myself, they seemed just like a poem. This is the result.

social commentary
7

About the Creator

Ruth Stewart

I'm a grandmother of four amazing grandchildren and a mum of three fabulous children. I write poetry mainly, also prose and the odd story. I live in Scotland, UK. For a secret link to watch me read my favourite poems click right here!

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Add your insights

Comments (6)

Sign in to comment
  • The Invisible Writer10 months ago

    You write really good notes! Excellent poem Ruth bravo πŸ‘πŸ½

  • Paul Stewart10 months ago

    Great accidental poem. Sometimes it happens and this is a lovely example. So truthful too!

  • Grz Colm10 months ago

    Very true! Good one! 😊✨

  • Poems are just ideas put into words. Love this

  • Babs Iverson10 months ago

    Lovely!!! Loving it!!!πŸ’•πŸ’–

  • Real Poetic10 months ago

    What an accidental gem this poem is πŸ‘πŸΌ

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

Β© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.