Poets logo

Chemo is a Gateway Drug

and my insurance won’t pay for rehab

By nathaneyPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like

All my silver linings

have turned blood red,

hopeless resilience

stuck knives farther in.

Work tirelessly to trust

nerve my body has,

to still betray what

I fought so hard to have.

I can’t caress callous skin

without remembering

the battles I never

should have had to win.

Crept quietly into my

haunted house flesh,

again I’m possessed

by poison pestilence.

I abandoned building

any tumorless future,

I’ll simply be left to

solemnly pass poorer,

to inspire those who

claim they knew her.

Pigmented ligaments,

bruised by barbaric

practice of meticulous

excision of the tragic

experience of this,

cancer,

nefarious

genetics.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

nathaney

I'm an optimistic nihilist comforted by collectivism, in a world worshipping rugged individualism.

I have no idea what I'm doing here,

or in general.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.