Poets logo

Check!

A poem about a non-traditional date.

By Robin Jessie-GreenPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
6
Photo by Gift Habeshaw on Unsplash

Check.

Spruce up my place.

Check.

Put on my face.

Check.

My diaphragm's in place.

Check.

Sit down and wait.

Check.

Peering through the blinds.

Check.

My date's not on time.

Check.

It's a quarter after nine.

Check.

Text his cell phone line.

Check.

Having some anxiety.

Check.

Thinking he's ghosting me.

Check.

He arrives finally.

Check.

With flowers and an apology.

Check.

He hadn't forgotten me.

Check.

He's looking "hot to death."

Check.

I'm thoroughly impressed.

Check.

Envisioning him undressed.

Check.

Could really chuck the rest.

Check.

I'll just pretend.

Check.

I don't know how it'll end.

Check.

But I already know when…

Check.

It's about to go down.

Check.

Moments from now.

Check.

I'll convince him somehow.

Check

He's looking back at me.

Check.

I'm following his lead.

Check.

Seated at the table.

Check.

My hormones unstable.

Check.

He asks me what I'd like.

Check.

"Is that an invite?"

Check.

"Excuse me?"

Check.

"Why don't we leave?"

Check.

"Come again?"

Check.

"For certain."

Check.

"What'd you wanna do?"

Check.

"Oh, You know what I wanna get into."

He raises his hand.

"CHECK!"

love poems
6

About the Creator

Robin Jessie-Green

Temple University BA and AIU Online MBA Alumna.

Content Contributor for Medium, eHow, Examiner, Experts123, AnswerBag, Medicine-guides.com and various other sites spanning a decade.

Visit my Writing Portfolio to see what else I've written.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.