Poets logo

Chalk and Fear

A diary of anxiety

By Small WorldPublished 5 years ago 1 min read
Like

Visualise a blackboard.

Filled with equations or quotes or music notes.

And wipe it clean.

Take the static from in front of your eyes, close them and go back to that moment.

That perfect moment.

When you smiled. Slightly silhouetted by the softest light through the balcony doors.

Slightly catching your eyes that glowed into mine and held me there.

That perfect moment.

When those three words almost took me over.

Set my body on fire.

Lit a fuse in my brain.

Those three words that almost burst so certainly out of me.

That perfect moment.

I just didn't want to ruin it.

And I started filling the blackboard again.

With nonsensical equations. With quotes I didn't understand and blurted out with most certain stupidity. With music for an instrument I was never meant to play.

That perfect moment was everything.

And when I need to remember what it means to be alive and feel; I close my eyes, wipe the board clean, fill my lungs.

And now I start again.

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.