Poets logo

Cavvanbah

This may or may not have happened...

By Steve TysonPublished 5 years ago 1 min read
1

Are you there my Johnny boy? Will you go to Tallow Beach?

Will you work the cedar trail?

Will you do as I beseech?

By the time I reached the camp

There were twenty men or more

Some had been to Jarman’s house

Others slept along the shore

As we worked the Skinner’s Shoot

Davy James could not be found

And we felled from dawn to dusk

My best friend had gone to ground

My love, you pushed me just too far

I’ve killed a man now I must run,

Far from Cavvanbah

When I lay my head to sleep

I was woken by a dream

I did flee from Tallow Beach

I could hear my true love scream

Came the dawn at Brunswick Heads

‘Fore I reached my humble home

And I saw upon my bed

My true love and Davy prone

My love you pushed me just too far

I’ve killed a man now I must run

Far from Cavvanbah

Are you there my Johnny Boy?

Will you go to Tallow Beach?

Will you work the cedar trail?

Will you do as I beseech?

performance poetry
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.