Poets logo

Caught in the Act

A bit of fun

By Paul WilsonPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
Caught in the Act
Photo by DANNY G on Unsplash

"Quick: get out of bed!" she cried. "For to my husband I have lied.

I told him I was with my sister, not some strange, unwholesome mister."

So panic races round my head. Where do I hide? Beneath the bed!

It's a divan - there is no space. And so I seek another place.

Perhaps the wardrobe would do nice to hide me through my secret vice.

As I hide with hanging pants, arrives: a heard of elephants.

As Husband charges up the stairs and trumpets out his anger, "Where's

the greasy little S.O.B? I'll kill him. Just you wait and see!"

"There's no one here but you, my sweet. Go back downstairs and rest your feet."

"I don't believe a word of it. Come out and fight, you little git!"

Of course I don't, and try to beat a very quiet hasty retreat.

He hears me move and turns his head. "I hear you! You're fucking dead!"

As toward the wardrobe comes certain death, I suck my thumbs,

And for a miracle I pray that God will come and save the day.

Too late! For husband's drawing near, blocking off the way that's clear.

So I strike him in the balls, and as he to the carpet falls,

I step past him and start to run like the clappers; I've had enough fun!

performance poetry
Like

About the Creator

Paul Wilson

On the East Coast of England (halfway up the righthand side). Have some fiction on Amazon, World's Apart (sci-fi), and The Runechild Saga (a fantasy trilogy - I'm a big Dungeons and Dragons fan).

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.