Poets logo

Catatonic Happenstance

By Brianna Galligan

By Brianna Lynn GalliganPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
Like

I need to search to find my words

Half times when I am aching.

To say exactly how I feel

Amid a heart that’s breaking.

I try and try to gain perfection

For my mind’s unrest.

The game of life, an odd infection,

Showing me a constant jest.

I reach for stars and miss the moon

As I plummet, wild, through space.

I scratch and tear at shooting stars

And hope I’ll find my grace.

The past is past. The future’s far.

It’s now that I must worry.

I cannot change what happened, happens

For here is where I hurry.

I cannot tell what futures bring

Or if fairy tales come true.

I know not up from down today.

I only sing the blue.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.