Poets logo

career

lament

By Lauren (she/they)Published 3 years ago 1 min read
1
career
Photo by Birmingham Museums Trust on Unsplash

Not a good communicator

Unless you speak my language

thinking a lot about death lately, I hope you don’t mind.

We’ve lost a lot of friends

people we couldn’t imagine losing

off into the infinite

Or back into the finite, I’m not sure

Either way, it happened

It will happen to all of us

The journey is long

This journal will be long

Does anyone want to write music with me? High school

kind of ruined my will to perform but

I’d love to write, to contribute

Consider this a formal offer

can you tell I’m looking for work?

not a job, not a career

Just a way to make money doing what I love

It took me a while to figure out what I love.

Watching shows, that’s obvious. Listening to music, of course

did you know there are people out there that “aren’t really music people”

I’m fascinated by systems, and the trauma they inflict

Really into restorative & transformative justice

Writing

Reading energy

Learning, growing

Grounding

There’s a job with all that out there somewhere

I just wish we didn’t have to worry so much about it

Maybe we could've kept a few more friends around.

sad poetry
1

About the Creator

Lauren (she/they)

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.