Poets logo

Capture these thoughts

Written on a sleepless night, a poem of uncontrollable thoughts.

By moonlit Published 4 years ago 3 min read
Like

I’ve been trying to capture these thoughts,

Wandering if a single of these distorted concepts can be caught.

It feels as though I'm drowning in a sea of vague ideas and lost memories

and I've been drifting here for centuries.

Picking up the shamblements of bewilderment and disarray,

Counting away the never ending days.

Now stop, breathe for a second, it's time to think outside the boxes of your brain,

I've always found that saying strange.

Think outside the box,

Think outside the box…

It reminds of being stuck in a classroom,

In this stiff old costume.

Another teacher repeating "think outside the box" is stood in front of me,

However what they cannot see,

Is they have trapped this child in a tower of expectations and shes banging on the bricks of this prison,

Screaming please someone help me but no one has risen.

Her future seems inevitable,

She simply becomes forgettable,

Not a single thing will be memorable.

We’ve seen it all before.

So I ask you, how can you tell me to think outside the box you so helped create?

Sorrow, dejection, despair and hate,

Erupting from me like molten lava,

Yet all you care about in the same old drama.

When did we stop considering all as kin,

In this messed up world we live in?

I continue to dance this samba of life and death,

I’m spinning, jumping and screaming with all my breathe

“Please stop this never ending storm of thoughts”

I’m beginning to question whether a single one can be caught.

Because I have no direction, not a plan, not even an idea

And it's all just vanishing.

Cosmic wander, mind sunder.

Waiting for thoughts like planets to aline,

It’s always a confusing time,

When life is moving too fast to stop.

Maybe i'm just another prop,

In this theatre of reality, formality, mortality.

How do i create the right mentality?

Do you think dreams hold reasons?

Because I’m travelling through a world with no seasons.

Down alleyways i can't perceive, getting lost within this plane,

I'm beginning to question whether or not I'm sane.

Life is a tango of love and hate

And I'm not sure that I believe in fate.

But I believe in growth so i will plant with tree

And watch it change, grow and love all whilst I sip my morning tea.

It's getting light outside now,

So I will leave the stage and take my bow.

I’ll close my eyes and this time i'm off to a mythical nirvana,

This wonderful shambala.

Mayhem means nothing here,

Each twisting ride of conviction seems to disappear.

Life may be formidable

But trust me there's a possibility that its liveable.

Order does not exist without chaos,

The world does not stop turning

And my thoughts do not stop churning,

So maybe this time when i close these eyes, i will stop thinking of chaotic seas,

Instead i’ll simple think of trees.

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

moonlit

Writing about love, nature and mental health

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.