Poets logo

Capture

A picture is worth a thousand words.

By Bugsy WattsPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
Like
Photo by Ian Stauffer on Unsplash

When flooded with colour I duck behind a lens.

One eye open, frame it now, focus.

The tantalizing visual of sunset across the water,

mingling red-orange against a wavy, ever-darkening blue.

Three, two, one… capture.

Hold this memory on instant printed paper or a scrapbook to make the time travel easier;

reliving the moment each time you stumble across it.

This is only a small fraction of the world that became so clear to me.

I could feel life pumping through my veins much too loud for my mind to appreciate the preciousness before me.

The way nature collided that day on the rocky ledge

and I found myself in the middle,

feet dangling into oblivion.

Each wave that broke on the shore carried with it the enormity of its journey

and reached out to kiss the soles of my shoes.

I have to take this in, need to hold it right now.

If only I can so much as attempt to share what I am witnessing here.

Suddenly the sprinkling of the water droplets was accompanied by a tiny yet insistent thought.

In an instant I was awash with it and I dared to peak from behind the bulk of my contraption.

Both eyes open, really look, focus now.

You will never experience this the same way.

And as I loosened my grip on tomorrow this hardware that I so cherished fell into my lap.

I sat in awe of the might before me.

I understood the power of the tide and the importance of the sun as it dipped into the water.

I had this moment.

I took solace in being nature’s true witness that evening,

allowing time to stand still.

Roused by a distant voice calling,

I slowly stood and dared one last glance.

This place held forever in my hands,

I turned and allowed all sound to flood back in.

My shadow dissolved with each step as the sun sank deeper,

until it finally winked goodbye.

nature poetry
Like

About the Creator

Bugsy Watts

Got bit by the writing bug.

Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/bugsywattspoetry/

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.