Poets logo

Capitalism by Lolly Vieira

A metaphor for my sentiments on being a consumer in this late-stage capitalist world.

By Lolly VieiraPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
3
Capitalism by Lolly Vieira
Photo by Matt Seymour on Unsplash

I’m picking up dog shit.

How fucking grand.

With a wrinkled Walmart bag slipped over my hand,

I pray to whatever god may exist

that it doesn't have a hole in it like last time.

The corners of my mouth get pulled in opposite directions

as I feel the warm fecal matter

squish between my fingers

and switch my grip to the flimsy handles

tying a probably-too-tight knot

while hoping that the smell will cease to travel up my nasal cavity.

A valiant effort,

yet unsuccessful.

Holding my breath, I run it to the garbage can.

Gravity grabs it much firmer than I dare to

and it plops down in the empty bin.

I empathize with the thud of this bagged shit-

suddenly falling, hitting nothingness,

hollow yet disgusting at the same time,

utterly useless.

I wonder who bagged me up and placed me here,

left to wallow in my toxic wafting fumes,

hidden through a lightweight, potentially penetrable layer

of nonbiodegradable plastic-

a corporate logo stamped on my face.

Ah, the life of a consumer.

social commentary
3

About the Creator

Lolly Vieira

Welcome to my page where I make sense of all the facets of myself through poetry and short stories.

I'm an artist of many mediums and strive to know and do better every day.

https://linktr.ee/lollyslittlelovelies

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.