Poets logo

Candy

Wrap it up

By CorwynnaPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
Candy
Photo by Mong Bui on Unsplash

Just like a candy wrap

Just like a candy wrap

I shine so pretty

See right into me

A prize inside

If you tear through me

Hard to piece

together again

The luster is gone

You can't pretend

Just like a candy wrap

Just like a candy wrap

Fits neatly in

The palm of your hand

Like a thousand others

Manu-

-factured by plan

Each touch is loud

Each finger crinkles

Even a look

can make me wrinkle

Just like a candy wrap

Just like a candy wrap

You've told me so

over and over

You shout it loud

so I'm not bolder

Still is there a reason here

to stay?

I know

candy wraps

get all thrown away

I'm not a candy wrap

No I

I am the sweet inside

I am the hours poured into

A mold and left to dry

I'm not a candy wrap

And I

I am the hand that holds

The mover of the world

You thought would be all I could know

I'm not a candy wrap

But I'm

Just like a candy wrap

I'm not candy wrap

But I'm

Just like a candy wrap

But I

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Corwynna

I'm a 28 year old writer and biologist with a million hobbies and enough passion for all of them!

Explore my music, stories, and homebrew on my site:

https://sites.google.com/view/corwynnascorner/home

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.