Poets logo

Candlelit discussions

by ANTHONY EDMOND

By anthony edmondPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1
Candlelit discussions
Photo by David Tomaseti on Unsplash

I light a candle and begin

Everything is darkening

And the devil keeps knocking

But I won’t let him in

Theres a circle of spells

They revolve around me and all I am

I try to break free

All this weight I have been carrying

Is starting to weigh me down

Maybe if I just got a little bit higher

I could become a little bit lighter

Well I just watched the color in my eyes disappear

Instant dilation and i am off again

There is nothing that is holding me here

And i find that I can hear my spirit calling out to me

There was suppose to be some kind of change

But it all just fell into the flames and

I can taste the past in my soul like

Its never gonna end this misery in me

Keeps me company

What does the world truly want from me

Over and over again the words they start to pour in

And I begin to remember that we were born to see that

There was a real person to show the world how to love

They never even looked my way

All there faces longing

For something more

For something they could believe in

Someone to give them hope

Its all just the same story

Every culture race and all beings seem

To place at the top of there list the

To learn and know .

Will with intent and we can become content

I’ve been sent just like many of you to recreate

An out dated tradition and our mission

A revolution A evolution

A new generations constitution

No more political prostitution

I will not conform I am different unique

An anomaly and I am going to own it with my voice

And my power to choose.

social commentary
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.