Poets logo

Can you relate?

What holidays sometimes feel like

By Esther AmiPublished 2 years ago โ€ข Updated 2 years ago โ€ข 2 min read
Like
Photo by Lisa Fotios on Pexels

I open my eyes at 6 am today and I am surprised ๐Ÿ˜ฏ I am still in bed?? (I forgot it was a holiday...) My first instinct? Pick my phone, check the time and get ready to do something, anything.

But then it hit me, Ami, you have got to relax...it's a holiday. I have lost track of the number of times I actually just relaxed, rested...just stayed in bed and did nothing ๐Ÿ˜ฅ๐Ÿ˜ช and maybe you have too. It takes one to truly see the value of rest in the moments when you really take advantage of it and that was me on this fateful day.

It is so easy to get caught up in the activities of the day that we miss out on taking care of ourselves; neglect the most important element in each day. Like me, I am sure you have too; skipped out on finding the time to rest all so you could finish up that report, get that work done, and finish that script but would anything have changed if you did it later?

Today, I allowed myself to rest; my mind and heart were finally in sync and at peace. I did not think about work or focus on the things I had missed while I was resting, it was time I had given myself to be kind to my mind and my heart.

Oh what a relief it was, my mind was blank and my heart was still. I wasn't running around, looking for things to do, or going through my to-dos for the day (again Ami, it's a HOLIDAY ๐Ÿ˜๐Ÿ˜).

No, it's not the fact that it's a holiday; I think for me, it's realizing that rest doesn't have to be only on holidays. We are so busy trying to play catch up every day that we forget to take a breath: just pause and relax. The moment we open our eyes or our feet hit the ground, we just get to stepping. I don't feel half as relaxed even today, maybe because I have been running for so long, and stopping to catch a breath is taking longer than I expected. I'll try to dedicate more time this month to rest, actually rest my mind and my body ๐Ÿค—, it's my promise to myself and maybe, you should try that too.

We don't get to relax every day, actually scratch that๐Ÿ˜…. We don't allow ourselves to pause, or take a breath because we do not realize how important rest is to our general wellbeing. So, before I get caught up writing more than I should๐Ÿ˜…...this is just your friendly neighbor throwing some advice your way, I pray you catch and hold on to it.

Find time to rest๐Ÿค—

Be kind to yourself๐Ÿค

You also deserve some TLC๐Ÿ˜˜

I'll get out of your hair now, just passing through now๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿƒ๐Ÿƒ๐Ÿƒ.

love poemsinspirational
Like

About the Creator

Esther Ami

Words are powerful and it matters how we use them. I use my words to build and impact, I use my words to lift and inspire. I am a words-person, I love words.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Esther Ami is not accepting comments at the moment

Want to show your support? Send them a one-off tip.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

ยฉ 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.