Poets logo

Calling to Me

Draw the curtains

By Craig WattPublished 4 years ago 2 min read
Like

I have felt in my life that there is a call for me. That there is something inside me sort of ringing. Trying to get through. Trying to say something. But the ear and the voice haven’t quite connected. Like I haven’t heard clearly what the voice is saying. What it is I’m meant to hear. And I then feel like what I’ve got to say isn’t the clearest interpretation of that. Like I’m hearing it through some sort of curtain. Or that I haven’t even picked up the receiver. But still it rings. Some days it’s a gentle vibration that I let rock me back to sleep. Other days it makes me do. Something.

I live often looking at the curtain. Nervous to pull the chord to reveal the full show. Looking to the luxury of the deep maroon velvet. In its lines and drape and resting in abundance on the wooden treaded boards. Yet my eyes are drawn, backwards, with the lines of those boards. To wonder. To think and imagine what may lie behind. What lies behind?

What if the curtain were designed to hinge on our peripheral. To lie back and rest, folded back, just a memory of their previous shielding. The very thing that covered the view of the whole show was created to be drawn. To return into itself in a folding motion. What if it frames all of our view of what lies behind. Frames.

The drama and brightness and creativity. The full movement and spectacle and symphony revealed. Shining light and life towards the onlooker. What I’d that drape, curtain, veil was only ever meant to frame. To stand at the edges, not obscuring but reminding us as we look to the side of what was once closed to us. Rich and in line with our senses, touch and sight. Now senses awakened to the fullness of what lies ahead. Draw the curtains.

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.