Poets logo

By Your Side

Yet Left Behind

By MelissaPublished 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 1 min read
4
By Your Side
Photo by Linda Xu on Unsplash

There's a hole in me

The size of the sky

And an ache as deep

As deep as the sea

After you left me behind

To move on in your life

To think I'd been holding you back

Like that

I didn't know you'd been trapped

Like that

All I wanted in you

All I wanted in me

At first glance,

Seemed so easy

With that first touch,

Those simple words,

I thought it was done

Thought we'd begun

A life of our own

Thought we'd uncovered

A new world, a new home

Darling, I didn't know

It wasn't enough for you

It was never enough for you

Why was it never enough for you?

Why was I never enough for you?

Why must you go?

And why must I stay

In our old dreams

Our old schemes

Our hopes that peaked

Too real to believe

Because they were, it seems…

I find lately it's hard to breathe

While you smile

And say there's no need for regret

It's okay to forget

All those times you made my heart soar

And all those days I spent at your door

How my world took on a warmer hue

And how my thoughts were spent only on you…

Darling, my darling

I'm trying to be strong

But darling, my darling

I can't find where we went wrong

We had it all

Had it so

Had it perfectly played

How we'd fall

In a moment

Delicately framed

Darling, I'll take the blame

Forever on my lips, your name

Can't we try again?

Can't we start over again?

Because

There's a hole in me

The size of the sky

And an ache as deep

As deep as the sea

And I'm trying to picture you

Bold and free

But I can still feel your warmth

Next to me

Please

After you left me behind

To move on in your life

All I wanted in you

All I wanted in me

All I wanted to be

Was lost in our dreams

Left broken at the seams

By your side

sad poetry
4

About the Creator

Melissa

Staring up at the stars that aren't there anymore.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.