Poets logo

By the Time

A Poem

By Mihaela VasilevaPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
1
By the Time
Photo by Andrik Langfield on Unsplash

By the time I learned how to say your name,

you

were already gone.

By the time I finally learned the game,

you

were already done.

By the time I learned how to speak,

you

already shut the lid.

By the time I finally learned how to seek,

you

had already hid.

And,

by the time my voice was quiet,

and by the time my song was sung,

you had watched my hopes and dreams

go from old to young.

By the time you had said,

you understood,

I had already finished my piece.

It hadn't gone from bad to worse,

but for a moment,

it made me freeze.

Somehow, by the time I convinced myself,

that all was sewn well,

I had already lost myself

and sadly,

I fell.

heartbreak
1

About the Creator

Mihaela Vasileva

I write based on heart. I love based on thought. I think based on truth.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.