Poets logo

Butterflies

I Miss Falling Now That I Am In Love

By Jess DaviesPublished 3 years ago Updated 2 years ago 1 min read
1
Butterflies
Photo by Richard Lee on Unsplash

In my stomach, in the trees and the skies,

Their kaleidoscopic wings flutter by,

Red, orange and white with black or brown eyes.

Each and all surround us where we lie,

Air filled with Monarchs and Painted Ladies,

Swirling and twirling, playful and dancing.

Possibilities, too: 'what if's, 'maybe's...

Times, places like these, they make my heart sing.

But sometimes their wings slice, slash and slaughter

My delicate heart, leaving me lying

Still on the ground, devoid of all laughter.

Perhaps this time will prove to be different.

This could be our chance to give in, fly high,

After all, you do give me butterflies.

sad poetry
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.