Poets logo

But Now

When the honeymoon phase is long gone

By Vanessa DorothyPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
Like

I used to see God in you. I thought our love would range from a multitude of bright colored hues.

But now...

My vision is blurred; my angle in disguise is now a demon obscured.

I used to think that we were in perfect alignment, so much so that we walked in the same pace.

I was so excited for us, about us, just the sound of your name made my heart race.

But now...

You walk when I lay, and you lay when I stand. My heart is so divided; it becomes hard to reach for your hand.

The butterflies...have turned to flies, circling my dying flesh from the inside out. Our love is now killing me, trapping me with no way out.

Stay or leave, I'm doomed to lose. My heart will still be broken no matter the decision I choose.

With or without you, my life I didn't imagine. Drunk from love, but the juice was bad gin.

You told me you'd be the better man, but I've only found myself crying from the same pains...again.

As I struggle to ease my mind, I watch you smile...as if you win from my pain was the plan all the while.

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Vanessa Dorothy

Just a girl, using writing to get things off my chest.

Follow me on Instagram @iamvanessadorothy

See my acting on Facebook: Daughter's In America

*not all stories based on personal experiences/opinions, but observations of others as well*

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.