Poets logo

But I Want You

A Twist on A Love Triangle

By Kathryn ParkerPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
memoryofmyne.com

She stares at me with unreal sapphire globes, a blush highlighting such delicate features.

You’re talking to her, craving her attention like a dog craves to steal a juicy steak from its distracted owner.

You have a plan, a whole diabolical epic you’ve already detailed to me with a 9 hours director’s cut. But those sapphires tell me that you’ve already lost.

She wants me to interrupt, to run you off and spend all my time with her. To fulfill so many fantasies, hers, mine, yours, the world’s.

You beg for her attention and so does he and so does that other guy and that rando sitting in the corner, licking his chops for a taste of her naivete. All slobbering over a girl, a child in the grand scheme of things.

Oh you can slobber all you want, you don’t have her favorite food. Her desired dream dessert after a hard day of reality.

Her needs aren’t something you could understand yet it’s easy to relate to it.

Yes, she craves the same curves and cuddles, soft, fragrant, gentle yet strong.

Yes, she wants the same things you do in bed, life, and love. Her eyes light up the room and yet I, somewhat plain and flat, light up her eyes.

Oh, the cruelty of caring for her isn’t completely lost upon me, I know a beautiful creature in my own flavor too.

His eyes stare at me every night, his lips lock mine in their own paradise kind of prison. He’s my dream and my nightmare and I want more every time. 8, 10 hours isn’t enough, I want eternity.

But you don't like emeralds, you pick them up and throw them to the side in favor of sapphires.

And what brings the biggest tear filled smile to my face, sapphires don’t want you.

But I want you.

She speaks to me with soft melodies swirling around in eavesdropping ears. Every word she utters is magic and brings to life shattered hearts. She could just repeat the weather and make it sound sunny while it pours rain or if she was negative, maybe she could make a sprinkle into a hurricane. You men would build arks, collect two of every animal, grow a beard but they’re tacky, she winks at me, and do whatever to make sure she is safe.

But she wouldn’t let me drown, she’d be my hero and I’d be yours. Can’t let your heart go.

She’s smiling at me and I compose my resting bitch face to face you. You finally tear your eyes off here to look at me. Do I sense that longing that would turn my body into a jackhammer?

Maybe I could shake her off and kiss you the way I do every night in my dreams? Satisfy my needs by intertwining us.

But you go back to her, gazing only a little at me.

I could cry, I could scream, but my pathetic tendencies have done their share of messing up my life. You won’t be the memory I have to burn in a long lasting fire, a memory that threatened to hang me, make me eat pills among other things. No, pathetic can stay away from tainting you and me.

I’ll be your best friend, the one you talk to, but I will never hide in your bushes, never pay you more mind than comfortable though I want to.

But no, you will only be good in my eyes. You have flaws, foundation problems, but you will never be a mess or a God.

You will be a diamond. A diamond that wants a sapphire that wants an emerald.

But the emerald wants the diamond.

You want her.

But I Want You.

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Kathryn Parker

Life is amazing. Life is horrible. It just depends on your day and attitude.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.