Poets logo

Business of the broken hearted.

We either break or get broken. The rest comes later.

By S.W. Published 4 years ago 1 min read
Like
Las Vegas

We break and hurt.

Destroy the hearts of ones we love.

Nothing hurts more then that gentle shove.

As I’ve been in this business of broken hearts.

Offering a service I don’t understand.

The taste of another is a different strand.

Loving things that shouldn’t be so.

The riptide of a heart pulling me undertow.

I might not have been what you want me to.

You might’ve idolized the imagery, or the way the moon lit my life.

You wanted the world and I’d only give a small portion of mine.

Now we drown in the whirlpool of time.

While the crescendo carries us out.

I might’ve hurt you but I had my doubt.

And untrusting heart who wasn’t willing to sort about.

My love is deep but our time was short.

Let’s call it business, it’s about time I closed this shop.

It’s rundown and about to flop.

Flipped the sign around, and figured myself out.

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

S.W.

A poet by way of life. Words just came easy to me, though I may never write a bestseller. I just want you to feel understood. At the end of my work if we’re closer than when you started reading I’ve done my part.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.