Poets logo

Burnt Out Flame

A Poem

By George GriffithsPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
3

Fading away,

Crumbling at my foundations,

Hoping I can rise to something beautiful - something stable.

I felt this flame had come to an end,

It was burning out

So at times,

I’ve wanted to extinguish it

My emotions,

They’re in motion

Waiting for that sweet relief,

If there’s such a thing

Let me know

I’m letting go,

Unsure of where I’ll go,

I wasn’t even sure where to begin;

It didn’t come easy,

But that’s love

There’s something in your words tonight,

Your words hang differently

And I don’t know why

My paranoia grows

Where did the love go?

The person I fell in love with isn’t the one

Standing in front of me,

I tried so hard to please you

But I guess it’s clearer to see

What this is,

It’s not supposed to be

sad poetry
3

About the Creator

George Griffiths

If you wish to see more, simply visit my website @

georgesofficial.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.