Poets logo

Burnout

back to work

By Kay HusnickPublished about a year ago 1 min read
Like
Burnout
Photo by SHOT on Unsplash

The phone rings at 2 a.m. and the flame that was finally starting to return simmers down again to smoky embers.

Back to work. Always, always, always back to work.

In the middle of dinner, back to work.

Half-way through rinsing the soap suds from my hair, back to work.

In the grocery store on my only day off,

"Hi, can you __ ? Oh, no, I didn't know you aren't on-call today"

But I hate saying no here. I took this job. I love this job. I knew what I was getting into,

but not really. Not like this. Not with every single day like this.

So I count down the weeks, the days, the seconds if I have to

until relief arrives and I'm not drowning in two people's jobs and the flame can reignite for real again

sad poetrysocial commentary
Like

About the Creator

Kay Husnick

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.