Poets logo

Bullet:

Stealing time

By Victor MendezPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
Like

BULLET 5-27-20

I heard your gun last night!

You fired off your anger!

A warning into the night,

my name anonymous written on the explosion of your unspoken threat!

A promise..

..unspoken to the few and the demons that possess you!

To me,

..to whatever you deem control-able,

....or maybe beyond your control!

Shall I fear my death?

Your reprisal?

..more than the denunciation of a life..

..reduced to cowering inside four walls

hoping you don't hear us?

..hear me? Or..

Shall I ride your anger?

..your hatred of life?

....of yourself?

......of me?

Shall I surf the waves of animosity?

...venting out your skin like watching heat waves from the sun beating on black pavement?

..an odor of passive-aggresive malice

wafting like a dark nimbus round your body like a shield!

Shall I ride above the fray?

..of your frayed character?

..for my children,

...for my life?

Remember..

Only a bullet lovingly coated with hatred can stop time!

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

Victor Mendez

Born in 1958.There's a lot of road beneath these feet.Worn out pairs upon pairs of shoes.Been a ranch kid,a city kid,a Marine,a dad, a grandfather now,an avid reader and just recently began writing poetry in 2015 just to vent.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.