Poets logo

Building Courage

Real life

By samantha tanPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like

Stop! You don’t want to go that way, not safe!

Not safe 2000 years ago when dinosaurs ruled and roamed the lush perfect earth.

Not safe even if you dramatically kept your eyes open, watching with hawk eyes.

You are wind soaring high, a telepath that can read minds.

I’m telling you why I’m right this time, you will listen to my smooth lips.

I will pull every angle as I sweet talk my words into your lumpy incorrect brain.

Everything is wonky!

Please understand, I did hack the facts, I did jump over the gem.

Started at the other end of the well curved glistening rainbow... where the pot of proudly earned gold lives.

We went through the motions like a kiwi bird trying to fly.

Like a clock, broken and then skillfully put back together and reset to go counter clockwise.

Like I told you it’s not safe, but I hold the key.

We promised each other once that every day should be like a shadow.

Constantly changing shape with the sun.

Your smile is a chameleon, blending in with all that surrounds it.

You disagree, but I already told you I am right.

My shadow has shifted, you have blended to my life colors.

I will carry you as we cross, your eyes are closed.

I’m grinning like a fool.

Taking the final step, I put you down and run.

I left the key for you to follow the code like a detective followed clues.

Your eyes open and crack the pattern, finding me...

Will you marry me?

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.