Poets logo

Brown Is The Color Of My Pride

A love poem to brown hair and brown eyes.

By Jyn ArroPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1
Self-Portrait: Brown Eyes

If their eyes are mystic blue flowers

My eyes hold the dark depths of the sea

If their eyes are dewy green bay leaves

My eyes are the shadows cast by light

If their eyes are gleaming precious stones

My eyes are sharp obsidian blades

If their hair glints like a pot of gold

My hair bears the sheen of raven wings

If their hair cascades like hot lava

My hair dances with the grace of smoke

If their hair drips warm as honey milk

My hair pours the sacred cacao

I have never been their lesser

Nor are they my inferior

Both reflections of the divine

Look to the pantheons of old

Offerings honored night and day

For each ruled the sky their own way

art
1

About the Creator

Jyn Arro

Eclectic artist spanning digital art, writing, poetry, and design. My works explore themes of spirituality, beauty, femininity, queerness, and my mixed-indigenous, Xicana ancestry. Socials: @jynarro | JynArro.com | USC SCA first-gen alum.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.