Poets logo

Broken Wings

(part one)

By Jack DrakePublished 3 years ago 2 min read
Like
Broken Wings
Photo by Josh Howard on Unsplash

"Broken Wings" (part one)

My home all destroyed by dark wicked fire,

I arrived again too late to save her -

She who quelled my far horizon desire.

Our island of beauty and life no more.

Slag and rubble-all hope from we was tore,

I looked and looked for the silver light she wore.

Her Temple on the Plaza of the Sun,

I landed there-rough!- to the ruins run...

With wretched sorrow, I cleared debris until done.

Her perfect form curled 'round a wounded child,

No life to be found, her light gone awhile,

I carried her past orchard trees, to the wild...

As filthy rain began to steady fall,

I laid her empty vessel on stone wall.

Letting go a mournful roar - none heard the call.

A final look at my first love's body,

Then a leap from the cliff, into the sea,

Wings expand and take flight... from such pain flee!

Racing along rocks and waves - faster yet!

Loss is chasing me with a speed unmet,

All of ev'rything screaming past... my reset?

Lifing up, steeper and steeper I climb,

To the heavens above and their keen rhyme,

Rise higher, fly stronger, be faster than Time...

To turn back the clock of true endless pain,

Drops of cold water change to stardust rain,

Shattered spirit turns my one purpose unsanc.

High above troubled blue world unfair,

Into the black night... do the stars care?

Exhausted, broke,. useless without the air!

Tumbling down, stars scarred armor,

My flame gone, but I feel gravity's fire,

Falling fast, my wings torn, burnt- danger now dire...

Through the sky a burning, dying cinder,

Ground and sea rushing to take me under,

To my lost love: Safe Travels! Where...? I wonder.

Between land and sea I hit, nearly dead.

Lost, dying... betrayed by for whom I bled,

A second chance at life, to me being led...

J.R.H -21

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

Jack Drake

It is what it is.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.