Poets logo

Broken rejection

Poem written Feb. 16, 2021

By Starlight StormPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
Broken rejection
Photo by Daniel Tafjord on Unsplash

I don't know

I really don't know

What do I say when people ask how I am?

What do I do when I'm growing numb or breaking down?

How do I explain that I don't want their "help"

I don't want them to explain that they're "not a professional"

And "can only help a bit"

"You have to remember that I'm just a friend"

"I can't tell you what to do"

Broken rejection

That's what it is

I wish I could just say it

I wish you would just listen when I try

I don't want your "help"

Not in the way you think

That's not why I come to you when I'm cracking

I don't want a professional

I don't want someone to analyze and nitpick my self

I just want you to hold me

I want you to just be there

To be here

No reassurances, no claims that it'll get better

No questions or interrogation

No disappointment or scorn

I don't want words

I don't want you to "do" anything

I just need you to hold me

To stay by my side while I work myself out

...

I don't know how to explain

If you can't understand this, I'm lost

I can't talk about it in public

It's hard enough to talk about normal stuff

Secluded and with friends

I try hinting at it

At what I'm going through

But they don't understand

How can they?

Even I don't know what's wrong with me

social commentary
Like

About the Creator

Starlight Storm

Lover of nature, friend of the stars, weaver of legends.

Storyteller and photographer, I aim to give voice to the voiceless and share the beauty of creation.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.