Poets logo

Broken Home Poem

Poem about my parents' separation

By Dakota ThomasPublished 5 years ago 1 min read
Like

Broken Home

They split up when I was 9

Thought I would be fine

Sad thoughts taking up my time

Therapy sessions all mine

They should’ve changed their mind

Backpacks traveling back and forth

They don’t love each other anymore

Mommy lives up North

Therapist asking if I’m fine

I don’t like her so I’ll just lie

Why did the love have to die

Why didn’t they give me a sign

The kid isn’t alright

She won’t be alright

Cheers to more loud nights

Don’t look at daddy’s phone

Don’t want to see texting fights

Broken home can’t be fixed

I hold the glue sticks

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Dakota Thomas

Hi I’m Dakota I love music especially hip hop and R&B. One of my favorite things to do is annotate on genius

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.