Poets logo

Broken Glass

a character poem

By Ash KnightPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
Broken Glass
Photo by Sean Benesh on Unsplash

Grimy streets

Acid rain

Smell of steel

and grit.

Moon hides herself

from the seediness

not here to illuminate

that dark figure

I watch

in her place

as he approaches her

with menace.

Coldly and

steel-like

reflecting blade

She turns with a

smile, come-hither

Foolish.

Blood

Spilled

Like

Rain

Into the slime

encrusted gutter

tossed away

like

garbage

The mirror breaks.

He turns

with a sneer

I stay

in shadow

watching from

my Corner

Where I have seen worse

where I am safe

He leave, I step

staccato-fast

and shake

my head

"Poor fool"

My future

Reflected.

social commentary
Like

About the Creator

Ash Knight

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.