Poets logo

Bright I

poem

By ShalløwPublished 2 years ago 2 min read
4
The Hate U Give

Back when suffering and me was like two sides of the same coin. 

When my physical pain got joined with a personality that brewed flames.

I became the dark knight that crept through vain hollows 

I walked where death follows; even the Sun knows I was dark entirely 

I swallowed hope and positivity; chaining the ones that wanted freedom

I was a King and pain my fiefdom

Thanatology became a part of me

With an Iron fist I ruled that kingdom.

Arbitrary contracted lists of enemies conscribed in jealousy

Came for my name a name of dreaded curses blasphemed by heresy;

The good that existed disappeared, Figments throughout reality.

A part of me vanished entirely, Demons became the closest friends of me 

My name slowly became dreaded cross the land and sea

That thought made the evil inside start smiling

There's power in this despised fiend

That only knows love by none other than me.

I was happy to be hated I would hurt and not care

Discriminate to bring harm to others felt great

I was the reaper with the blade hovering above their thread of fate 

I was disconnected from everyone for their sake;

Your wretched feelings pouring out over heartbreak

only makes me give a smile that's fake

There are wars that take place behind my eyes

So how could your sorrow compare to mine? 

What people seemed to see was a pride,

A flame of dark heat that sneaks inside this soul of a roaring Lion

Becoming the biggest fire how could you compare

When to me your life's a lighter nothing can compare

To my greed and desire I feed on the bravest

warrior that comes upon my step

for like a dragon my breath shakes the ground and makes you sweat

That pure rage like a bliss purely sweeps away the thoughts of escape 

You are a bee sting on a tree; you are and will be the furthest thing from me

I can't imagine a you; or maybe better known as nothing 

When you look down you see your reflection, upon gazing up

you're perplexed as to why you see me, It must be tough

to know you stand that low, but that's how far away we seem to be

Eternal fire may even become a friend of me,

but baptized in my brimstone enemies shall freeze 

I built a legacy that moves and shakes the toughest tree

So great it seemingly must be, power, fame, even glory

It's everything you could want, but from that I must separate entirely

Thank you Sun for changing what I couldn't see.

-Shalløw

sad poetry
4

About the Creator

Shalløw

Be the light others can't show, Be the water to the ones who can't grow, Be the friend others wish to know. Don't lose yourself to pain because it might never let go. 031

-19 made it into college lol

-Shalløw

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.