Poets logo

Brigadoon on vinyl

Comfort in memory

By Heather HublerPublished 2 years ago β€’ 1 min read
21
"Almost Like Being in Love" was a favorite.

A scent swirls through the air

carried aloft by memories

of Sunday afternoons in autumn.

The heavy smell of roasting meat,

rich pools of gravy,

clouds of whipped potatoes slathered in

salted cream.

*

There's a warm flush of skin on wrinkled cheeks

lifted like apples in the shape of a smile.

A worn apron to wipe her smooth palms

as she dances around the kitchen, humming

and tasting her savory bliss.

*

An open window brings a rush of crisp, cool air

along with the sweet sounds of an old man whistling.

His tone rising and falling, lilting and lulling,

echoing the melodic notes of Brigadoon on vinyl,

pausing only to give an affectionate welcome.

*

Afternoon turns to dusk, pink painting the sky,

as four souls from three generations

come together around a slice of oak,

bowing heads in thanks and fellowship.

My Grandma and Pap-pap with me as a little girl

Note: It's been two and a half decades since this was reality, but the smells and the sounds and the sights have never faded for me. I am all that's left to remember.

My mom and I

inspirational
21

About the Creator

Heather Hubler

Reading/writing/science/family=life

Visit

fb * X * insta

OMG creators

Mike Dharr Cathy DanaS Babs Brin

Gina Tiff Grz KJ Thavien CH Kelli

Veronica BrentonF Paul Dean Holly Lamar

Caroline Melissa JS Donna Moe

Gerald DanaC JBaz Kristen Randy

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

Add your insights

Comments (20)

Sign in to comment
  • Jazzy 8 months ago

    This felt like a Thanksgiving with the family, where everything is warm and inviting, and you're just happy to be alive. Well done!

  • Russell Ormsby about a year ago

    Your poem captured my heart. You took us to one of those moments in time that most of us can relate to with fondness. Thank you.

  • Sopha Schreuder2 years ago

    A good author to look forward to, nice.

  • What a beautiful memory! Thank you for sharing this moment of nostalgia!

  • Caroline Jane2 years ago

    Gorgeous. I actually started salivating during the first verse. This oozes melancholic comfort. πŸ₯°

  • Subhi Najar2 years ago

    wonderful!

  • My Father always played records when he cleaned and cooked, and many of the songs I still listen to in the present day take me back to those moments as if I were there. A beautiful poem and sentiment.

  • So ch a beautiful poem with all the comfy vibe.

  • Babs Iverson2 years ago

    Beautiful, beautiful, beautifulπŸ’•πŸ˜ŠπŸ’–πŸ’•

  • Great comforting memories πŸ’• Thank you for sharing ❀️

  • This comment has been deleted

  • Very well-written poem! My preferred part is definitely that one: Afternoon turns to dusk, pink painting the sky, as four souls from three generations come together around a slice of oak, bowing heads in thanks and fellowship.

  • Linda Rivenbark2 years ago

    I have enjoyed the many "Get Comfortable":poems I have read here on Vocal, but I think I just found my winner. Your story/poem made me cry...the good kind of cry I've been needing to do for so long. I feel inspired now to attempt to write my own comfort story that is unique to me. Thanks for the inspiration.

  • Ashley Shiflett2 years ago

    This is so sweet. I love it! I feel like i'm there!

  • There is a beautiful warmth is your words. Very comfortable

  • I love nostalgic poems! And you've now preserved the memories of those sounds, smells, and sight in this beautiful poem. I loved it so much!

  • Dawn Salois2 years ago

    Beautifully written treasury of wonderful memories. Very comforting.

  • All the wonderful aspects of home are present in your poem... The aromas, the crisp cool burst of air, the family... The love. Nice comfy poem! Good conveyance of thoughts.

  • Cathy holmes2 years ago

    Omg I love.this. so beautiful

  • Kat Thorne2 years ago

    The rhythm to this piece is incredible, it flows so naturally!

  • The Dani Writer2 years ago

    What precious memories! Such an honour to share in them. Your family is smiling on you, beaming pride. You have shown their love to the world. Thank you!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

Β© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.