Poets logo

Breaking News

There is no in between.

By Ivy RozenPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
Like

New freckles on my cheeks

A new gray hair comes every week

The lines across my face

And the space between my teeth

We feel the quarantine

The air around is so compact

And the social posting mean

Stress informs just how we act

There is no in between

Touch, a lost sensation

We stay staring at our screens

To feel connected to our nation

Police keep killing blacks

Despite how loud we beg

As we cry, hit with tear gas

Rubber bullets beat our legs

First you lose your job

Then lose a life to the disease

Then you see more murders

By the "sweet and scared" police

New freckles on my cheeks

A new gray hair comes every week

The lines across my face

And the space between my teeth

Between this, the killings and quarantine

Only one goes left unseen

social commentary
Like

About the Creator

Ivy Rozen

Writer and poet with published articles, email campaigning experience, teaching experience, and a completed poetry residency with Free Verse, where I finished my first book of poems, Runcation, on sale now at www.IvanaWrites.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.