Poets logo

Breaking Down Walls - A Poem

A poem about how love can break down the walls you have created to protect yourself.

By Kirsten IvattsPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 1 min read
4

My thoughts are full of you these days,

Accompanying all actions,

Warming me with your love,

Strengthening my heart.

Yet one thought pervades all others,

Offering up no answer,

To its sweet mystery.

Years have encapsulated me

In protective walls of stone,

My heart held in dark depths,

Avoiding the light.

How then, with one smile, with one kiss,

Did you shatter into fragments

All that I had built?

In front of you my heart lays bare,

Vulnerable to the world,

Frighteningly naked.

Awake, open, new.

As I stand shivering, amazed,

You wrap your arms around me,

Seeing me in you.

And I know you will protect me.

With you, no walls are needed,

Your heart lies bare to mine,

Simple, giving, true.

Touching softly, stroking away hurts,

Offering me love in exchange

For many lifetimes of fear.

Perhaps I search for answers when

All I need is acceptance

Of the knowledge that you

See the truth of me.

Thank you for reading! PLEASE give me some heart, perhaps a tip, and certainly a subscribe if you like my work. We writers love to know you enjoy reading what we write.

You can find me on the internet in lots of places. Follow this link to find out where:

https://linktr.ee/KirstenIvatts

If you would like to join Vocal + yourself please use my referral link:

https://vocal.media/vocal-plus?via=kirsten-ivatts

Buy my books on Amazon:

https://www.amazon.co.uk/Kirsten-Ivatts

inspirational
4

About the Creator

Kirsten Ivatts

Imagination is my pen, and I wield it in every area of my life!

From fantasy fiction to poetry. From writing courses to sharing my interdimensional travels, riding dragons through the cosmos, I live to write.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.