Poets logo

BreakThrough

Breaking Through The Abusive Relationship

By Elsa RomeroPublished 3 years ago 2 min read
Like

Breakthrough

Many moments of life, we will never understand

Individuals we meet, that through life, refuse to hold our hand

Once can cry so many tears capable of filling an ocean

Without realizing a higher power is preparing you, putting a greater plan into motion

I sit here contemplating life

After many years of agony, relentless struggle and strife

And a smile appears across my face

Self-reflection was needed because in the past, that was not the case

I cherish the people that have come and go

Even those crushing moments, to my face, all the blows

Broken teeth, black eyes and body sore

Fake love, verbal damage, actions that I had sure destroyed me to the core

Some may call it weakness and a sign of unintelligence

But in the moment, nothing seems to make any sense

Why, I always asked myself as I tried to convince my mind

That I deserved more, a pure love, someone kind

When you have always wanted to be loved, and your esteem, instead thrown on the floor

You doubt the possibility of ever finding something more

It is so hard to have the one you love to break you apart

You dream of leaving, be smart, find a new start

But the damage is done, and you are reminded every time you look in the mirror

And as you are thrown down the stairs, tumbling step-by-step, with each kick to your body, you begin to fear the end is nearer

Life begins to matter less and less

Questioning your life, how I got into this mess

Reminded of a person who relies on me

My son, my heart, my everything

And as blood streamed down my face

I asked him to forgive me, I was full of disgrace

Here I was wasting my life away

On someone who increasingly had nothing good to say

I opened my eyes in fear of dyeing

I thought of taking my life, I was done crying

When you have had enough, you dare

You open your heart, your mind, you just do not care

Yes, some may call it weak

But the amount of strength required to leave is not what others speak

Ignore the judgements, ridicule and fly

Pick the highest mountain and begin to climb

Occasionally you must be stripped of who you are

To become the one who will reach the stars

Know your worth and walk with your head up high

Get out before your loved ones talk to you having to look up to the sky

I do not normally share my story

But you are not alone, that light at the end of the tunnel is full of glory

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.